On August 4, 2022, the Washington Department of Labor and Industries (L&I) filed an emergency workplace safety rule to extend and slightly modify COVID-19 (coronavirus) reporting, notification, and personal protective equipment requirements. The new rule took effect immediately and expires on December 2, 2022. (We reported on the prior rule here, which expired on August 4, 2022). The updated rule mostly reorganizes and simplifies language, while continuing the following requirements:
Employers with more than 50 covered employees at a workplace or worksite must report infectious or contagious disease outbreaks of 10 or more employees to L&I within 24 hours;
Non-health care employers must notify employees in writing of potential exposures within one business day;
Health care employers must notify employees of potential high-risk exposures within 24 hours; and
Employees and contractors may voluntarily use personal protective equipment.
Tips: Employers who were following the prior rule should keep following the same measures until at least December 2, 2022. For a complete overview of COVID-19 workplace rules in Washington, review our Legal Guide, At a Glance: COVID-19 Compliance in Washington. For COVID-19 questions relating to workplace rights (e.g. time-off requests), contact your Vigilant Law Group employment attorney; for COVID-19 questions relating to workplace safety, contact your Vigilant safety professional.