Vigilant Blog

News, trends and analysis in employment law, HR, safety & workers' comp

Showing posts for: California

Photo of Karen Davis
Jul 07 2022
COVID-19Safety and Health  

CALIFORNIA: CDPH updates definition of “close contact”

On June 8, 2022, the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) changed the definition of a COVID-19 “close contact” to someone sharing the same “indoor airspace” (instead of the prior standard of being within 6 feet) for a cumulative total of at least 15 minutes over a 24-hour period during the infectious period of a…

Read More…
Photo of Chris Edison
Jul 07 2022
Drug and AlcoholHiringWage and Hour  

CALIFORNIA: No pay due for applicants’ time to take drug tests

The U.S. Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals recently ruled that California employers aren’t required to compensate applicants for time and travel expenses required to undergo mandatory preemployment drug tests. A grocery store with locations in California offered jobs to applicants contingent on a successful background check and drug test. The company paid…

Read More…
Photo of Sean Brown
May 05 2022
Safety and Health  

Prepare for heat illness prevention

As summer approaches, now is the time to review your safety plans for protecting workers from heat illness hazards. California and Washington have state-specific heat stress regulations and directives that you must follow, while Arizona, Idaho, and Montana follow federal law. Meanwhile, Oregon is in the process of developing permanent…

Read More…
Photo of Lorraine Amrine
Mar 03 2022
COVID-19Safety and Health  

West coast states ending indoor mask requirements

California, Oregon, and Washington are ending indoor mask requirements this month for most situations. California Governor Gavin Newsom announced that starting March 1, 2022, masks are no longer required for unvaccinated individuals in public indoor spaces and starting March 12, 2022, masks will no longer be required in schools. Oregon…

Read More…
Photo of Leila Duntley
Mar 03 2022
COVID-19Leave Laws  

CALIFORNIA: FAQs published for 2022 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave

The California Labor Commissioner has published updated FAQs about the COVID-19 2022 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave (SPSL) law, which applies to employers with 26 or more employees. As we previously reported, the 2022 SPSL law (SB 114) took effect on February 19, 2022, requiring covered employers to provide SPSL to…

Read More…
Photo of Lorraine Amrine
Feb 17 2022
Q&ACOVID-19Leave LawsWorkers’ Comp  

Q&A: Be aware of employment protections for COVID-19 absences

Question: Early in the pandemic, we didn’t discipline for absences related to COVID-19 (coronavirus). With all that’s changed since then, can we return to our regular attendance policy? Answer: Not so fast. In any state, if an employee quarantines or isolates due to a workplace exposure, the employee may have protection under state…

Read More…
Photo of Karen Davis
Feb 17 2022
COVID-19Leave Laws  

CALIFORNIA: Inform employees of your approach to 2022 SPSL

If you employ 26 or more employees, we recommend that you notify any California employees how you will handle retroactive requests for 2022 COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave (SPSL). As we reported in a recent Alert, the 2022 COVID-19 SPSL law (SB 114) takes effect on February 19, 2022, but…

Read More…
Photo of Leila Duntley
Feb 17 2022
COVID-19DisabilitySafety and Health  

CALIFORNIA: Masks no longer required for most vaccinated workers

The California Department of Public Health (CDPH) order that required everyone to wear masks in indoor public settings regardless of whether they were vaccinated against COVID-19 (coronavirus) expired on February 15, 2022, but the order still requires unvaccinated people to wear masks indoors. As we previously reported, the CDPH originally set…

Read More…
Feb 11 2022
COVID-19Leave LawsWage and Hour

CALIFORNIA: COVID-19 supplemental paid sick leave is back

On February 9, 2022, California Governor Gavin Newsom signed a new law reviving supplemental paid sick leave (SPSL). California employers with 26 or more employees will need to provide up to 80 hours of SPSL to employees who are unable to work for reasons related to COVID-19 (coronavirus). The new COVID-19…

Read More…
Feb 03 2022
COVID-19Leave Laws

CALIFORNIA: Lawmakers plan to bring back supplemental PSL

On January 25, 2022, Governor Gavin Newsom and California legislators announced a plan to bring back Supplemental Paid Sick Leave (SPSL) for employees who are unable to work for reasons related to COVID-19 (coronavirus). As we previously reported, California’s previous law that provided SPSL to employees impacted by COVID-19 expired on September 30, 2021. Currently, Governor Newsom and…

Read More…