Vigilant Blog

News, trends and analysis in employment law, HR, safety & workers' comp

Oct 01, 2020

OREGON: State launches new COVID-19 temporary paid leave program

COVID-19Leave Laws 

The Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services has begun accepting applications for a new COVID-19 paid sick leave benefit of $120 per-day for up to 10 days. The payments are available when an employee must miss work because they have been advised by a doctor or health official to quarantine because of COVID-19 (coronavirus) exposure or when they have symptoms of COVID-19 and are seeking a diagnosis. To be eligible for this payment, an employee must not be eligible for employer paid coronavirus sick leave, and they must not be applying for or using other types of paid benefits such as unemployment, workers compensation, or other employer paid leave such as sick leave or vacation. In addition, the employee must not be laid off or furloughed and they must not exceed specific income requirements. Eligible employees can apply for benefits directly through the Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services and the award of benefits will not impact an employer’s unemployment rates or have any direct tax impact on the employer.

Tips: If you have an employee who needs to quarantine and is not receiving pay from other sources, consider providing them with the COVID-19 paid sick leave flier and encouraging them to take the quiz to determine if they are eligible to apply.

This website presents general information in nontechnical language. This information is not legal advice. Before applying this information to a specific management decision, consult legal counsel.

Comments