In updated Statewide Isolation and Quarantine Guidance issued on June 4, 2021, the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) is again allowing a shortened quarantine period for people who have had close contact with a confirmed positive COVID-19 (coronavirus) case. While OHA continues to recommend a 14-day quarantine period for employees who have come in close contact with a COVID-19 case, it also allows for a 10-day quarantine period if the individual remains asymptomatic and a 7-day quarantine period if the worker tests negative for COVID-19. As we previously reported, individuals who are fully vaccinated don’t have to quarantine after close contact as long as they remain asymptomatic.
Tips: Remember, as we previously reported, Oregon employers must allow employees to quarantine without taking adverse action and must provide written notice to employees about their job protection rights starting June 3, 2021. Please call your Vigilant Law Group employment attorney if you have specific questions about quarantine and self-isolation for exposed workers.